All Kinds of Pearls For You

Necklaces, earrings or Pearl bracelets. Wonderful jewelry and steeped in tradition. The pearls are a legacy of jewelry for women, since there is no men’s jewelry with stone. In addition, there are several types of it, some smaller, some larger, rounder, compridinhas, etc. All of them are formed on the inside of oysters, in salt water, or mussels, in fresh water. Check out all the different types of pearls:

South Sea

Are grown in Tahiti, Australia and the Philippines and from large oysters, which provide large sizes of pearls, round being between 8:15 mm in diameter. However, some can reach amazing 25 mm! Are found in various shades between white and gold.

Pearls of Tahiti

These are the famous black pearls. Round, in sizes ranging from 8 mm to 14 mm in diameter, but may be greater. Have dark tones such as dark green, dark blue, graphite grey and purple.

Akoya Pearls

Are the most traditional jewelry and views around, being round with up to 7 mm in diameter. Are salt water and grown in your most in Japan. Sometimes it can also be found in the seas of Korea, China and Sri Lanka. Have different colors and tones, as the gold, blue, gray and pink, but for the most part found is white.

Freshwater pearls

Found in rivers and lakes, have very varied size and colors too. It was Japan that freshwater pearls became known worldwide, but today China is the world’s largest producer. Freshwater pearls are not fully spherical, perfectly round, but it’s hard to see with the naked eye.

Rice Freshwater pearls

Also known as Keshi pearls (“poppy”), are small and can be rounded or long, so have that name. The highest incidence is in China, found in freshwater, grown in rivers and lakes. They were very used in the fashion of 80 years to assemble necklaces with 30 or 40 twisted wires.

Baroque Pearls

Are the pearls that do not have defined geometric shape, because, during cultivation, not go as expected and do not reach 75% of sphericity. They can be found in fresh and salt water and in a wide range of colors and tones.
The types considered to be of a high standard are the South Sea and Tahitian pearls, mainly by size, by the brightness and the price. The longer the time of cultivation, which is at least 3 years, the greater the iridescence, that is, the rainbow effect that white light causes when it focuses on the Pearl and returns to our eyes.