Federal University of Bahia (Brazil)

Federal University of Bahia. Most important Brazilian public academic institution in the state of Bahia. It was founded in 1946, although it is considered one of the oldest for being heir to the Bay School of Surgery created in 1808.


The Federal University of Bahia has its beginning on February 18, 1808, when the Prince Regent Don João VI instituted the Bahia School of Surgery. Later they incorporated the Pharmacy (1832) and Dentistry (1864) courses, the Academy of Fine Arts (1877), Law (1891) and Polytechnic (1896). In the 20th century, the Faculty of Philosophy, Sciences and Letters was created (1941).

UFBA’s founder, Edgard Santos, was the first rector of the University. During 15 years as rector (1946 – 1961), he led the federalization process and implemented the physical and personnel infrastructure, writing the first chapter of an integrated university: Arts, Letters, Humanities and Sciences. In the first year of the rectorate, the University of Bahia is formally constituted.

In its rectorate, the institution gained projection, with emphasis on Dance, Music and Theater, the first university courses of the genre in the country. UFBA founded, in the 1960s, two important phenomena of contemporary culture: Cinema Novo and Tropicalism.

Undergraduate and postgraduate courses

It currently teaches 112 undergraduate and 168 postgraduate courses completely free of charge.


Teaching is concentrated in the four campuses that the university has in Salvador de Bahia (Canela, Vale do Canela, Ondina and Federação) but it also has secondary campuses in Barreiras and Vitória de la Conquista. Among the university’s facilities are important cultural centers for the whole society, such as the Martim Gonçalves Theater or the UFBA Art Hall.

University units

UFBA has 33 university units, which are divided into schools, colleges and university institutes.


  • School of Management
  • School of Fine Arts
  • Dance school
  • School School of Nursing
  • School School of Veterinary Medicine
  • School School of Music
  • School of Nutrition
  • Polytechnic School
  • School School of Theater


  • Faculty of Architecture and Urbanism
  • Faculty of Communication
  • Faculty of Accounting Sciences
  • School of Economics
  • Faculty of Management
  • Education Faculty
  • Pharmacy faculty
  • Faculty of Philosophy and Human Sciences
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Physiotherapy


  • Institute of Biology
  • Institute of Environmental Sciences and Sustainable Development (Barreiras)
  • Information Science Institute
  • Institute of Health Sciences
  • Institute of Physics
  • Institute of Geosciences
  • Institute of Humanities, Arts and Sciences
  • Institute of Letters
  • Mathematics Institute
  • Multidisciplinary Health Institute
  • Institute of Psychology
  • Institute of Chemistry
  • Institute of Collective Health

Federal University of Bahia (Brazil)